Metropolis of Corfu

The Pantokrator-Kamarela Monastery is part of the Holy Metropolis of Corfu, Paxoi and Diapontian Islands.

The Metropolitan Cathedral of the Virgin Mary Spiliotissa. The two main relics of the Cathedral are the icon of the Mother of God Spiliotissa (Holy Virgin of the Cave) and the relics of the Saint Empress Theodora.

The Holy Metropolis of Corfu is one of the oldest dioceses of the Greek Orthodox Church. According to the legend, the first propagators of Christianity on Kerkyra island (Corfu) were the disciples of the Apostle Paul, the Apostles Jason and Sosipater of the Seventy. They built the church of the First Martyr Stephen and converted to Christianity Saint Kerkyra — the daughter of the ruler of the island, Kerkilin — who suffered a martyr’s death.

The Holy Apostles Jason and Sosipater of the Seventy and the Martyr Kerkyra

The bishops of Kerkyra participated in the Ecumenical I Council (year 325), the Ecumenical IV Council (year 451), and the Ecumenical VII Council (year 787). In the IX century the Diocese of Kerkyra received the status of an Archdiocese, and in the XI century — a Metropolis. The first Archbishop Arsenius of Kerkyra was honoured in the sainthood.

Saint Arsenius of Kerkyra (Corfu)

Orthodox parishes and monasteries of the islands of Corfu (Kerkyra), Paxoi and Diapontian Islands are under the jurisdiction of the Metropolis.

Metropolitan Nektarios (Dovas)
of Corfu

At present, the Metropolis is governed by His Eminence Metropolitan Nektarios. According to the tradition, every year on the eve of the Feast of the Transfiguration, His Eminence Metropolitan Nektarios leads an evening service in honour of the patronal feast of the Monastery.